Antoine Gaber : l’art du paysage

ArgeliaCastillo

Argelia Castillo

Membre de l’Association internationale des critiques d’art (AICA)et du comité scientifique international des critiques d’art de la Biennale de Florence en Italie.

Traduit de l’espagnol

« Une œuvre d’art est un fragment de création vu par un tempérament. ».
Emile Zola

Avec énormément de passion et une indéniable intuition, l’artiste canadien Antoine Gaber évoque le spectacle de la nature par le biais de symphonies chromatiques orchestrées par la lumière. Ses paysages, scènes champêtres, maritimes ou fluviales, et ses fantaisies florales, constituent une poésie naturaliste dont l’essence ultime réside dans l’exaltation de la vie.
Gaber représente la nature non comme un simple exercice descriptif ou de reproduction fidèle à des formes et à des éléments, mais comme une transcription profonde de ses émotions. La transposition que Gaber réalise dans ses toiles, c’est-à-dire, son traitement du monde naturel à travers les suggestions lyriques de l’image, démontre aussi son sentiment de communion avec la nature. En effet, la nature représentée par Gaber n’apparaît jamais comme un paysage morne ou domestiqué, mais comme une source inépuisable d’inspiration créative et de plaisir existentiel.
Si la transfiguration évocatrice de ce genre pictural présuppose l’étude de l’environnement, on ne peut faire autrement que de souligner, chez ce paysagiste autodidacte, la vocation d’observateur constant, patient et attentif de la nature. Artiste voyageur, ses yeux infatigables cherchent les paysages à traduire dans ses toiles, que ce soit en parcourant la campagne et les rivages européens ou en traversant le Canada d’un océan à l’autre. Dans ces « fragments de Création » qu’il perçoit et capture dans ses nombreuses toiles, il y a une dissociation certaine des normes dictées par le réalisme académique.
Gaber a découvert dans le style impressionniste une liberté d’expression tout à fait en accord avec sa sensibilité et son tempérament. Ce choix stylistique est certainement né de la puissante séduction exercée sur ce peintre, originaire du Caire, par la lumière et les mille reflets qu’il a pu observer sur le grand fleuve d’Egypte, terre millénaire du culte au soleil et pays qualifié par Herodote de « cadeau du Nil ».
À travers les influences de son pays d’origine et celles du mouvement pictural français populaire du dernier tiers du 19ième siècle, Gaber, dans ses peintures à l’huile, se consacre à dépeindre l’impression éphémère provoquée par les formes éternellement changeantes de la nature. Mais ce qui l’intéresse par-dessus tout est de capturer des paysages en constante transformation : changements des effets de la lumière et de l’atmosphère, passage du jour et des saisons.
À cette fin, il utilise une palette de couleurs qui lui permet de traduire cette métamorphose de la lumière : tel que vu dans la lumière orangée de l’aube qui parcourt un champs encore parsemé par les ombres de la nuit (Dawn, Nouveau-Brunswick, 2004); dans la pénombre verdâtre et fantomatique de la lune (Moonlight on the Nile, 1998), ou encore, dans les explosions dorées du rayonnement du soleil dans ses nombreuses versions du crépuscule (Sunset in Tuscany, 1999; Sunset on the Sea 1, 2000; Paris, Sunset on La Seine 1, 2002).

Les œuvres telles que Canadian Winter Scenery 2 (Hampton, NB, 2002), Fall Reflection 2 (2003) et Spring in the Apple Orchard (1998) appartiennent à la catégorie des œuvres dépeignant les changements provoqués par ces deux éléments : la couleur et la lumière; changements résultant de différents détails, mais également marqués par l’équinoxe ou le solstice.

Dans la première toile, l’artiste applique une quantité épaisse de peinture bleuâtre – imitant un climat d’hiver glacial et l’étalant comme si c’était une mer de neige de laquelle émergent des îles de conifères aux branches étincelantes de glace cristallisée. Dans le second, il utilise plusieurs taches rougeâtres qui ressortent des ombres vertes, imbibant le feuillage automnal d’une dernière promesse de chaleur. Dans le troisième, il utilise la couleur à l’aide de minuscules coups de pinceaux pour dépeindre un paysage baigné par un soleil radieux en une belle journée de printemps.

La richesse des couleurs et la liberté du coup de pinceau, ainsi que la manière dont l’artiste organise l’espace, font en sorte que les couleurs se fondent les unes aux autres jusqu’à devenir indissociables (Sailing at Sunset 1, 2004). Parfois certaines formes sont légèrement soulignées dépendamment de la dégradation progressive des éléments du fond (La Seine Near Giverny, 1999).

Dans son travail, ce peintre, né en 1957, donne une grande importance aux objets du premier plan, encombré de masses d’eau ou de végétation dont les ondulations apportent une sorte de dynamisme à l’œuvre d’art de laquelle émergent différentes formes issues de nombreuses lignes diffuses. (Sailing in Rough Sea, Normandie, 2001); Poppies Beyond the Village, 1999).

Gaber113c

Daydreaming Young Girl in the Garden, 2000.

Étant donné que la nature est toujours le protagoniste dans les peintures de Gaber, on y retrouve très rarement des visages humains. Lorsque présents, ils manquent exprès de détails physiques, mais se trouvent harmonieusement immergés dans un paysage plein de la lumière et de couleur, comme dans Daydreaming Young Girl in the Garden, 2000

 

Cependant, dans certains de ses travaux, le visage humain n’est pas un intrus dans l’immensité solitaire de la nature, mais une présence amenée à la vie par les objets témoins de sa trace : les marinas, les phares, les petits bateaux; les maisons de campagne, les granges, les barrières, et plus particulièrement, les chemins ou les ruelles.
Ces chemins souvent bordés d’arrangements symétriques, haies ou buissons en fleurs (Garden in Giverny, 2001 et 2002) ou de rangées rythmées d’arbres dont les branches filtrent la lumière du soleil (Forest Path in the afternoon, 2004), guident notre regard dans son voyage à travers la toile.

Gaber158c

Daffodils, Still Life 1, 2002

On note également que l’artiste fait le choix de dépeindre non seulement des paysages panoramiques, mais également d’autres sujets de moindre étendue. Par exemple, nous devons souligner sa production abondante sur le thème des nymphéas, dont une série du même nom comportant vingt toiles peintes entre les années de 1998 et de 2003.
Encouragé par sa volonté tenace de capturer dans ses peintures la vision de l’instant présent créé par la vibration de la lumière sur la surface de l’eau (ce qui mena Claude Monet et ses nymphéas aux extrêmes limites de l’Impressionisme et même au seuil de l’abstraction), Gaber commence son pèlerinage aux jardins d’eau de Giverny.
Il se dévoue à sa propre recherche dans les eaux de différents étangs, représentant les complexités attrayantes de ce milieu, où de grandes feuilles plates aux pétales multicolores flottent, à travers une gamme sans fin d’ombres créées par les réflexions du ciel, des nuages et de la végétation poussant sur les rives.
Ses natures mortes méritent aussi une attention particulière, surtout sous le thème floral. Dans ses arrangements verticaux, l’artiste représente des groupes d’asters, de tulipes, de fleurs de lierre, de jonquilles, de marguerites, de roses et d’iris, les organisant avec spontanéité à l’intérieur des vases qui sont au centre de la composition (Daffodils, Still Life 1, 2002).

 
Gaber113c

Poppies in the Garden 7, 2004

L’artiste a su développer un heureux jeu de couleurs et de formes, où l’arrangement sphérique des fleurs fait contraste à la forme angulaire des tiges, et où les tonalités lumineuses des bourgeons et des pétales prennent vie sur les tonalités neutres du fond. L’artiste atteint encore un autre niveau quand il renonce à l’utilisation de vases, permettant soudainement aux tournesols, aux coquelicots, aux fleurs sauvages de pousser de façon abondante et libre sur la toile (Poppies in the Garden 7, 2004), transformant ainsi sa nature morte en objets de « nature » éclatants de vie.

 

Dans la métaphore qui célèbre la puissance de la vie, dans l’éloquence du langage qui transmet l’énergie de la nature et de son étendue infinie, dans son choix d’un genre artistique qui exprime sa sensibilité postmoderne, dans la célébration des couleurs, dans les paysages paisibles qui nous incitent à observer, dans l’émotion profonde qui invite le spectateur, dans la révélation esthétique comme célébration de la plénitude… voilà d’où jaillit toute la beauté des toiles de Gaber.

 

Argelia Castillo Cano, Uruapan, Michoacán, Mexique, 

août 2005

Argelia Castillo Cano (Mexique, D.F., 1958) 

Sociologue. Elle collabore en écrivant sur la culture et les arts plastiques dans des périodiques mexicains comme Reforma et La Voz de Michoacan, et dans des revues spécialisées comme Art Nexus (Colombie – États Unis), elle est auteure de textes sur l’art contemporain parus dans divers catalogues et publications. Elle est membre de l’Association internationale de critiques d’art (AICA) et du Comité scientifique international de la Biennale de Florence, Italie. Elle a été professeure à la Faculté de sciences politiques et sociales de l’Université Nationale Autonome du Mexique, et coordinatrice et traductrice de nombreuses œuvres littéraires et de sciences sociales pour des éditions mexicaines comme CONACULTA, Grijalbo, Océano y Trillas, et pour des organismes internationaux assignés à l’OEA et à l’ONU.

The Landscape Art of Antoine Gaber by Argelia Castillo Cano

ArgeliaCastillo

Argelia Castillo

Member of the International Art Critics Association (AICA) and the International Scientific Committee of Art Critics, for the Biennale of Florence, Italy
 

Translated from Spanish, unedited quote

“A work of art is a corner of nature seen
through a temperament.”
Emile Zola

With undeniable intuition and great deals of passion, Canadian artist, Antoine Gaber evokes nature’s spectacle through his symphony of color orchestrated by light. His landscapes, which represent nature scenes, vegetation, maritime scenes, river views and floral fantasies, constitute a naturalistic poetry whose ultimate purpose lies in exalting life.

Gaber represents nature not just as a plain descriptive exercise or a faithful reproduction of the shapes of the objects but as a wise transcription of a language permeated by his profound emotion. The transposition that takes place in his canvases, that is, his treatment of the natural world seen by the image’s capacity of lyrical suggestion expresses the obvious sense he possesses of communion with nature.

As a matter of fact, the nature that Gaber represents is never a tame or domesticated world but a never ending source of creative inspiration and existential pleasure. If the evocative transfiguration of the specific pictorial genre means the study of the environment, then we can’t help to notice the vocation that this self-taught landscape painter has as a constant observer. As a traveling artist, his tireless eyes search around for situations in whose presence he can tint his canvasses, this being a journey through European rivers and fields or when crossing the Canadian geography from coast to coast.

In those “corners of nature” that he perceives and which he captures in his numerous paintings, there is a clear dissociation from the norms dictated by the realism of the academy. Gaber discovers in the impressionist style a complete expressive freedom similar to his sensibility and his temperament. It is a choice of style preceded by the powerful seduction that this painter, born in Cairo, felt when observing the lights and the thousands of reflections on the Egyptian river surface, in the land of the thousand-year-old cult to the sun and in a country that Herodotus described as “the Nile’s gift”.

Recovering the early influences of his native country as well as the legacy of the popular French pictorial movement of the last third of the 19th century, Gaber, in his oil canvasses, dedicates himself to portray the ephemeral impression caused by the eternally changing forms of nature. Above all, he is interested in capturing scenes in constant transformation, due to changes in the effects of light and the atmosphere and generated by the different times of day and the different seasons.

For this purpose he uses a palette where the metamorphosis of light resides: as seen in the orange light of dawn that runs through a field still submerged under the shadows (Dawn, Island View, New Brunswick, 2004) and in the ghostly greenish half-light brought to life by the moon (Moonlight on the Nile, 1998), or in the golden explosions of radiation of his very many versions of dusk (Sunset in Tuscany, 1999; Sunset on the Sea 1, 2000; Paris, Sunset on La Seine 1, 2002).

Works such as Canadian Winter Scenery 2 (2002), Hampton, N.B., Fall Reflection 2 (2003) and Spring in the Apple Orchard (1998) belong to the category of works portraying the changes of these two elements, color and light; changes generated as the result of the different details but also marked by equinox or solstice.

In the first painting the artist applies a thick amount of bluish paint – imitating an icy winter climate and spreading it as if it were a sea of snow from which islands of pine trees of sparking branches of crystallized ice are emerging. In the second one, he resorts to several reddish spots that stand out in the green shades, impregnating the autumnal foliage with a last promise of warmth. In the third one, he uses very tiny brushes of color to portray a landscape bathed by the sun on a well-lit spring day.

The richness of colors and the freedom of his brush together with the way he organizes space at times make the shapes melt together and become one another (Sailing at Sunset 1, 2004). Sometimes shapes are shown slightly outlined depending on the progressive degradation of the elements in the background (La Seine Near Giverny, 1999)

More often, the work of this painter, born in 1957, give a great deal of importance to the objects in the fore-ground , crowded with masses of water or vegetation and whose waves convey a sort of dynamism to the work of art in which different shapes of diffuse outlines are emerging. (Sailing in Rough Sea, Normandy, 2001; Poppies Beyond the Village, 1999).

Gaber113c

Daydreaming Young Girl in the Garden, 2000.

Due to the fact that nature is always the protagonist in Gaber’s paintings, very seldom observe human figures in them. When present, they purposely lack of physical details and yet find themselves harmoniously immersed in a landscape full of light and color, such as in Daydreaming Young Girl in the Garden, 2000.

However, in some of his works, the human figure is not an intruder in the solitary greatness of nature, but a presence brought to life by the objects which are witness to its trace: in the marinas, light-houses, small boats; in landscapes, country houses, barns, fences, and particularly in paths or lanes.

Those paths often bordered by symmetrical arrangements of hedges or blooming bushes (Garden in Giverny, 2001 and 2002) or rhythmical rows of trees with branches through which the sun rays are filtered (Forest Path in the afternoon, 2004), guide our glance in its journey through the canvas.

Gaber158c

Daffodils, Still Life 1, 2002

We also have to note the artist’s choice to portray not just panoramic landscapes but also other topics not so extensive in Nature. For instance, we need to emphasize his plentiful production of water-lily theme such as the series entitled “Water Lilies” featuring some twenty works painted between the years of 1998 and 2003.

Encouraged by his tenacious will of capturing in his paintings the vision of the precise instant offered by the vibration of light on the water surface (fact that lead Claude Monet and his water lilies to the extreme limits of Impressionism and even to the threshold of abstraction), Gaber starts his pilgrimage to the water gardens of Giverny.

He devotes himself to his own search in the waters of different ponds, representing the appealing complexities of this medium, where big flat leaves with multicolored petals are floating, mixed with an endless range of different shades that have been created by reflections of the sky, the clouds and the vegetation growing on the banks.

His still-life deserves special attention as well, especially the ones with a floral theme. In his vertical arrangements, the artist represents bunches of asters, tulips, ivy-flowers, daffodils, daisies, roses and irises, organizing them with spontaneity inside the vases that appear in the centre of the composition (Daffodils, Still Life 1, 2002).

Gaber113c

Poppies in the Garden 7, 2004

A fortunate range of his interplay of colors and forms, where spherical arrangement of flowers appears in contrast to the angular shape of the stems, and where bright tones of the buds and the petals come to life on the neutral tones of the background. The artist reaches an even further level when he discards the use of vases, allowing suddenly the sun-flowers, poppies, agapanthus and wild flowers to just grow in a lush and free manner onto the canvas (Poppies in the Garden 7, 2004), which now transforms his still-life’s into pieces of “Nature” just bursting with life.

In the metaphor that celebrates the power of life, in the eloquence of the language that conveys the energy of nature and its endless flowing, in his choice of an artistic genre that renews its expressive capacity for postmodern sensibility, in the celebration of colors, in the quiet views that make us ponder, in the profound emotion in which the audience becomes involved, in the aesthetic disclosure as a celebration of plenitude…. that is where the secret of the beauty of Gaber’s paintings lie.

Argelia Castillo Cano, Uruapan, Michoacán, México
August 2005

Argelia Castillo Cano – (México, D.F. 1958)

Sociologist. She has written articles about culture and visual arts for Mexican newspapers such as Reforma and La Voz de Michoacán, and also for specialized magazines such us Art Nexus (Colombia-US). She has also written essays on contemporary art for numerous catalogues and publications. She is a member of The International Association of Art Critics (IAAC) and the International Scientific Committee of the Biennal of Florencia, Italy. She has been a professor in the Faculty of Political and Social Sciences at the Universidad Nacional Autónoma of México. She has also coordinated and translated numerous literary and social science books for different Mexican publishing companies such as CONACULTA, Grijalbo, Océano and Trillas; and for different international organizations related to the OEA and the United Nations.